The Midsouth Political Science Review Volume 18, 2017

Campaign Inc.: Data from a Field Survey of State Party Organizations John C. Davis and Drew Kurlowski	1
Determining Factors in Perceptions of Judicial Greatness Colin Glennon and Mikel Norris	27
Norm Diffusion through the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT): Th Impact of International Socialization Satoshi Machida	
Book Review Computational Social Science: Discovery and Prediction Yan Gu	81

About the Contributors

- **John C. Davis** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science and Director of University Relations at the University of Arkansas at Monticello. His research interests include political parties, legislative behavior, public policy, and state politics. He holds a B.A. and M.A. from the University of Arkansas and a Ph.D. from the University of Missouri.
- **Colin Glennon** is an Assistant Professor of Political Science at East Tennessee State University. His research interests focus on judicial behavior, the relationship between courts and other branches of government, and citizen perceptions of judicial legitimacy. He has previously published work in *Law and Social Inquiry, Politics and Policy* and *Judicature*.
- **Yan Gu** is a Ph.D. candidate at Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies at University of Washington. Her research looks at state propaganda and public opinion on the Internet in authoritarian regimes, with an empirical focus on China. Before joining Jackson School, she was a journalist and commentator at *Changjiang Daily*, the official newspaper of Wuhan Municipal Committee of the Chinese Communist Party.
- Drew Kurlowski is an Assistant Professor of Politics at Coastal Carolina University. He is also the Director of Data Analytics at the Dyer Institute for Leadership and Public Policy, and the Director of the American Studies program. His research and teaching interests focus on campaigns and elections, election law, political parties, southern politics, and American political thought. He holds an M.A. from the University of Virginia and a Ph.D. from the University of Missouri.
- **Satoshi Machida** is an Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at the University of Nebraska at Kearney. His research focuses on security issues focusing on nuclear weapons and nationalism in East Asia.
- Mikel Norris is an Assistant Professor of Politics at Coastal Carolina University. His research examines judicial selection, gender and judicial decision making, and chief justice leadership on state supreme courts, among other topics. His work has been published in *Canadian Journal of Political Science, and Journal of Women, Politics & Policy.* He was the Paul D. Stewart Distinguished Lecturer of Political Science at Marshall University for the 2015-16 academic year.

The Midsouth Political Science Review Editorial Board

John Passé-Smith

Editor:

Joseph Y. Howard

University of Central Arkansas

Associate Editors:

Mary Beth Sullivan

University of Central Arkansas University of Central Arkansas

T. Clay Arnold Donald Gooch Doug Reed University of Central Stephen F. Austin State Univ. Ouachita Baptist University Arkansas Kim Hoffman Catherine Reese Paul Babbitt University of Central Arkansas State University Arkansas Southern Arkansas University Gary Ritter University of Arkansas Jay Barth Christina Hughes Hendrix College Univ. of Houston-Downtown Michael Rogers David Branham Meagan Jordan Arkansas Tech University Univ. of Houston-Downtown Old Dominion University **James Scott** Kevin Brennan Brinck Kerr Texas Christian University University of Arkansas Ouachita Baptist University William Shreckhise Daniel Chand Kiril Kolev University of Arkansas Kent State University Hendrix College Tucker Staley Jacek Lubecki Eastern Michigan University Price Dooley University of Memphis Georgia Southern University Joshua Stockley Andrew Dowdle Heather Mbaye Univ. of Louisiana at Monroe University of Arkansas University of West Georgia Carol Strong Andrew Drummond Tom McInnis Univ. of Arkansas at Univ. of Arkansas at Little University of Central Monticello Rock Arkansas Bill Topich Paul Foote Mark Mullenbach Pulaski Academy Murray State University University of Central Arkansas Gary Wekkin Joseph Giammo University of Central Univ. of Arkansas at Little Keith Nitta Arkansas Rock Univ. of Washington Bothell Sharon Wrobel Rebecca Glazier Janine Parry University of Memphis Univ. of Arkansas at Little University of Arkansas Rock Tara Parsons

James Madison University

Arkansas Political Science Association

A		\sim	· ·
A ccn	C12t16	111 ()t	ficers

PresidentCar	_
University of Arkansas-N	Monticello
Vice President	[outconic]c
Arkansas Tech U	
Alkalisas letil t	Jinversity
SecretaryM	latt Evans
Northwest Arkansas Communit	
TreasurerMichae	_
Arkansas Tech U	Jniversity
Past PresidentKin	3.6 1:
nenari	ix College
Executive Board Members and Terms	
Karen Sebold (University of Arkansas-Fayetteville)	16-2018

Program Chair (2017-2018): Hans Hacker (Arkansas State University)

Subscription Information:

Subscription rates are \$30.00 for individuals and institutions. Subscriptions may be obtained by writing or e-mailing to:

Dr. Michael Rogers Arkansas Tech University Witherspoon Hall #257 407 West Q Street Russellville, Arkansas 72801 mrogers6@atu.edu